what’s the time, mr wolf?

Posted on

I really have to tell you about my new favourite .. well, thing. It’s lunch. At work. Don’t shake your head at me, you will understand when I tell you.

Specifically, it’s this book:

It’s rilly, rilly good. Like, every-one-of-my-work-lunches-has-been-a-recipe-from-it-since-I-got-it good. That was three weeks ago, in case you’re wondering. (Given to me for my birthday, from my awesome husband who wins at present buying every single time.)

And let’s face it, it’s exactly my kind of recipe book; I mean, over half the recipes involve no cooking whatsoever, can be made in the morning before you go to work and are mostly vegetarian (still claiming that title despite eating all forms of pork, the occasional duck and sometimes even fish). It’s even entertaining to read, with gems like this:

Spread everything out on the tea towel and turn on your desk lamp. Pretend you’re in a pub garden.

or this:

Bat the inevitable probing forks away from your plate.

and who doesn’t relate to this at some level?:

Fight the urge to eat the sandwich for breakfast.

I’m not even going to tell you any more. Just go and buy it, ok? Trust me, you won’t regret it.

talk to me, I don't bite (hard)

