what do you call a vegetarian who eats pig?

Posted on Updated on

Hello. My name’s Sarah and I’m a vegetarian. Except I’m not. Sort of. Yeah, I know, I’m confused too.

I was a vegetarian from the age of 15 until some time a year or so ago, which means I was vegetarian for longer than I ate meat. And if you’re wondering, then yes, it was the bacon that turned me. It’s always the bacon, isn’t it? I’m such a cliché.

But before you judge me for contravening my own principles, please rest assured, I have none. I’m not THAT sort of vegetarian. My reasons were baser than that; in fact, it was my mother who decided she no longer wanted to eat, or indeed cook, meat, thus rendering the rest of us non-carnivorous by default. Of course, being a rebellious teenager, I resisted the trend for several months before succumbing, but typically contrarily was the last by far to buck it.

Considering my lack of principles, I could be quite evangelical about my vegetarianism at times, going so far as to refuse to eat anything cooked with meat fat or stock and even being squeamish about food that had been cooked NEXT to meat. Why no one told me to get over myself, I really can’t imagine.

So yes, it started with the bacon, but it didn’t stop there. Oh no. I swiftly moved on to crackling, pork pies, paté and crispy duck. I’m also partial to proper cooked ham (not that plastic packet stuff, yuk) and cured ham. I’ve even tried beef and lamb, although I can’t say I’m sold on either. I’ve come to realise I like predominately pork products and prefer cold meats to hot (with the exception of bacon, DUH).

As far as Nick is concerned, he’s finally managed to turn me (um, that sounds wrong). But I keep telling him, I’m still vegetarian, I just happen to eat meat too. Now all I have to do is find a word for that.

5 thoughts on “what do you call a vegetarian who eats pig?

    -M- said:
    January 18, 2012 at 23:33

    Haha the bacon does it every time! I just discovered pork pies through old x factor UK episodes online. I think I’d be addicted to them if I knew where to get them in the US.

    forevervintageblog said:
    January 19, 2012 at 04:59

    Labels are confusing. I do love me some bacon though 🙂

    Getting my five a day | purple patch said:
    January 26, 2012 at 19:51

    […] a lot of people don’t consider a meal complete without meat (*cough* Nick *cough*). Have I mentioned I’m a […]

    Getting my five a day | purple patch said:
    March 9, 2012 at 21:53

    […] a lot of people don’t consider a meal complete without meat (*cough* Nick *cough*). Have I mentioned I’m a […]

    what’s the time, mr wolf? « purple patch said:
    May 16, 2014 at 17:07

    […] no cooking whatsoever, can be made in the morning before you go to work and are mostly vegetarian (still claiming that title despite eating all forms of pork, the occasional duck and sometimes even fish). It’s even […]

talk to me, I don't bite (hard)

