to detox or not to detox

Posted on Updated on

I don’t make a secret of the fact that I’m a total chocolate addict; you only have to do a quick search of this site to see how many times I mention it. But recently I’ve been eating so much (erm, like every day) that even I’ve become a bit jaded. So towards the end of the week before last I decided to go on a five day detox the following week, Monday to Friday. Well, you can’t diet at the weekend, it’s practically illegal.

Me being me, I researched detox diets on the internet; I didn’t want to pay for fancy shakes or meal deliveries, I just wanted a simple plan I could follow myself at home. And I found it here.

So I reached day five of my detox and felt quite proud of myself for seeing it through. I found myself, however, wondering whether I really needed to detox in the first place. Having read about possible side effects ranging from headaches to lack of energy, I really didn’t notice much of a difference at all. A spot broke out on my chin around day 2 or 3, but was gone by the following day, which let’s face it, probably would have happened anyway.

Oh and I lost a pound in weight per day steadily from Tuesday to Friday; I didn’t dare weigh myself on Monday (too scared to see the damage the weekend caused), which means I lost at least 3 pounds, although my estimate would be more like 5 or 6.

On balance, I think the detox was A Good Thing; if nothing else it broke the bad eating spiral I had got myself into recently and helped me shed the extra pounds that pattern had put on. But more importantly it made me think about what I was putting in my mouth (ahem) and why, so I didn’t just pick at what I was making for the girls’ tea or grab a biscuit when I was hungry in the afternoon.

So my plan is to be more creative about the food I eat and make sure I choose healthy options, during the week at least. Weekends .. well, that’s another story. Oh come on, you didn’t seriously expect me to give up chocolate for good did you?

One thought on “to detox or not to detox

    Facts about Detox Diets said:
    July 14, 2011 at 11:27

    […] To detox or not to detox (swatt.wordpress.com) […]

talk to me, I don't bite (hard)

