my brilliant (fantasy) career

Posted on Updated on

My memories of sewing begin very early on, right from my first stitches clumsily worked at infant school; in fact, they are some of my clearest (good) memories of school. (I have plenty of bad ones, but just don’t tell my kids.) However, it wasn’t until I was in my teens that my love of needlework really took hold, when I produced my first piece from a very simple commercial chart. From that moment on I was hooked, albeit more than slightly embarrassed about admitting to such an uncool hobby.

In my previous incarnation as a child-free person with a life, I occasionally used to attend Royal School of Needlework day courses and even worked on a City & Guilds in embroidery for 18 months before my natural laziness won over my desire to get an actual qualification. (Yeah, so I didn’t say it was a very thrilling life.)

One such course was on crewelwork or Jacobean embroidery; as far as I can remember it was spread over three days during which I learned various stitches and produced a piece of work based on a design provided by the school. Me being, well, me, I didn’t manage to finish mine within the three days and it’s languished in the attic pretty much ever since (along with numerous other projects in varying stages of completion, ahem).

Now that my girls are older, I’m finally finding more time to do the things I want to do rather than the things I have to do and one Sunday afternoon recently I spent an hour or so working on this particular embroidery. Sometimes I’ll pick one up and get bored with it fairly quickly but this time I found I really enjoyed the sewing. I’m also rather happy with the quality of my work considering it was the first time I’d tried some of the stitches, so I thought I’d showcase (ok, show off) the results here.

So all I have to do is figure out what on earth to do with all those creations taking up precious attic space; far too many to display without making the house look like some mad collector lives here, yet somehow I don’t think I can bring myself to just throw out over 20 years’ accumulated handiwork. Just off to check if there’s a market for this kind of thing on eBay…

4 thoughts on “my brilliant (fantasy) career

    Jixi Fox said:
    May 31, 2011 at 09:40

    wow. looks awesome

    […] I am an (intermittently) prolific needleworker and especially love working with wool, I have never really been interested in knitting. My mother […]

    busy doing nothing | Purple Patch said:
    March 25, 2013 at 21:04

    […] been reading more craft blogs, which has also encouraged me to return to sewing; not so much needlework at the moment but machine sewing. I treated myself to a new machine a couple of years ago, […]

    another bite of the cherry « said:
    October 31, 2013 at 21:04

    […] Show at Alexandra Palace. I had been once before, years ago, when I was working my way through a City and Guilds in Embroidery, and thought it would be interesting to go again, this time from the point of view of a recently […]

talk to me, I don't bite (hard)

