adventures in baking

Posted on Updated on

One of my Christmas presents was the mouth-watering Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook; I think I may have mentioned before that baking is my favourite kind of cooking. I hadn’t had a chance to try any out over Christmas but Saturday night when I was thinking about Sunday’s breakfast (what? Don’t tell me you never do that) I had a flick through the muffin section and found one for maple and pecan muffins. Maple and pecan are my all-time favourite danish pastries AND I just happened to have all the ingredients in the house so it was clearly meant to be.

Muffins are so easy to make, even I can’t mess them up – mix the dry ingredients, mix the wet, combine and – BAM! Instant breakfast. You’ll just have to believe me when I tell you how good these muffins were as I didn’t even get the chance to photograph them. The recipe makes 12 so I made full quantities thinking that’d be two each and four left for another day (well maybe later that day) but my family clearly had other ideas because this was the final score:

Nick  3  –  3  Sarah

Alice  2.5  –  3.5  Jessica

So here is a photo of the aftermath instead.

Footnote: The recipe called for buttermilk but I didn’t have any so I made some with a cup of milk and a tablespoon of lemon juice. I also didn’t have quite enough maple syrup so I added some golden syrup to make up the quantity. Look at me getting all Nigella!

Update: The recipe made so much that I froze the rest and used it a week later to make eight more – and this time I managed to take a photo before they disappeared…

talk to me, I don't bite (hard)

